Awards Program

Field of the Year Awards Program

Note: If Oct. 15th is a weekend, the official deadline to submit is the following Monday or 1st business day of the next week.

The 2017 STMA Field of the Year Application is now ready! The deadline for submitting an entry is Oct. 15, 2017.

Please read the instructions and then download the Field of the Year Application hereAdditionally, the STMA PCI is required for the Field of the Year program; however, only the scores need to be transferred to the application – the full PCIs do not need to be attached. Click here for the PCI assessment form. 

Start taking pictures and documenting your progress now! The STMA Awards Committee encourages sports turf managers to be creative in their applications and pictures, while still working within the framework of the program. 

Each Field of the Year Winner is provided with outstanding recognition. This recognition includes; an award plaque, STMA apparel, STMA annual conference registration, conference lodging assistance, and an article in SportsTurf magazine.

The STMA Awards Program is proudly sponsored by:

  Ewing Irrigation

Hunter Industries World Class Athletic Surfaces


Gary Vanden Berg Internship Grant

The SAFE Foundation announces the introduction and funding of the inaugural Gary Vanden Berg  Internship Grant. This grant honors Gary Vanden Berg, CSFM, for his contributions to the industry in promoting internships. Gary was the Director of Grounds for the Milwaukee Brewers until his death on October 10th, 2011, and his commitment to creating an excellent learning experience for interns was legendary throughout the MLB and the entire sports turf industry.

This grant will be awarded in late fall each year for an internship completed the during the spring or summer of that year. STMA Student Members in good standing who are currently enrolled in a minimum of 6 credit hours or were enrolled in a minimum of 6 credit hours in the semester just prior to the internship are eligible to submit for the $1,000 grant. Thus, recent graduates who completed an internship after graduation are eligible. The grant will be awarded in the fall and the winner introduced at the STMA Annual Conference in January.

The grant is intended to offset the costs a student may have incurred while interning including, but not limited to, transportation, lodging, and food, or as a subsidy to wages.  In addition to receiving the $1,000 grant, the winner will also receive a full conference registration and three night’s lodging at the next STMA National Conference and Exhibition.

The deadline to submit is Oct. 15. To apply, click hereIf you are interested in making a donation in Gary’s honor to help fund this grant for future years, contact Kim Heck, 800-323-3875.

Previous winners of the Gary Vanden Berg Internship Grant:

2016 - Amanda Folck, Ohio State University 
2015 - Tyler Carr, University of Arkansas
2014 - Jeremy Langlois, University of Massachussets/Amherst
2013 - Zachary Avers, Ohio State University
2012 - Nik Wooldridge, Colorado State University
2011 - Aaron Bryant, University of Tennessee 


Terry Mellor Continuing Education Grant

The SAFE Foundation will award the Terry Mellor Continuing Education Grant, sponsored by Turface Athletics again this year. This $1,000 grant is intended to fund a portion of the winner’s attendance at the STMA Conference in January.  All members of an STMA affiliated chapter are eligible to win, and must be nominated through a letter of recommendation by a National STMA Member.

The deadline to apply for the Terry Mellor Continuing Education Grant will be October 15. STMA will provide a complimentary conference registration to the winner, and the winner will be recognized at the Association’s annual Awards Banquet held at the conference. 

The STMA Scholarship Committee, who judges the SAFE Scholarship winners each year, will be involved in the selection of winner. Click here to download the nomination form. This form includes the criteria for eligibility and guidance for writing your nomination.

If you have any questions, please contact STMA headquarters at 800-323-3875.

STMA would like to thank Turface Athletics for their support of the Terry Mellor Continuing Education Grant.

Previous Winners of the Terry Mellor Continuing Education Grant

2016 - Nicholas Lievense, Purdue University 
2015 - Doug Watt - West Marshall High School

2014 - Daniel Losito - North Carolina State University

2013 - Don Scholl, CSFM - City of Tracy, CA
2012 - Gabriel Mitchell - San Diego State University, San Diego, CA
2011 - Weston Floyd - University of Texas/Tyler - Tyler, TX
2010 - Kevin Fernandez - White Bear Lake School District - White Bear Lake, MN
2009 - Eddie Atherton - City of Owensboro - Owensboro, KY

International Resources